Charly: What’s cooking?

c1

With the cold air settling in, what could be a nicer way to spend an evening in, than with a hot drink and shortbread biscuits? Exactly, I can’t think of anything better either!

As I start to buy and wrap Christmas pressies, this is a great treat while I work away at perfecting my wrapping.

Half the present, is in the presentation!

Get a head start and get shopping everyone and to get you ready for the Christmas shop here is a recipe for shortbread biscuits with Charly bee tips!

c2c3

Ingredients

  • 150 grams plain flour
  • 100 grams margarine
  • 50 grams caster sugar

Method

Screen Shot 2013-09-05 at 10.22.28      Cream together the butter and sugar in a bowl. Gradually mix in the flour. I use my hands to mix all the ingredients; I find it a lot better than using a wisk.  Using your hands; knead the mix together into a smooth ball. Do not over work the mixture or they won’t have that unique crumble.

Screen Shot 2013-09-05 at 10.22.28       Roll out to about 1/2 cm thick. Cut out your shapes and place on baking tray.

Screen Shot 2013-09-05 at 10.22.28        I bake my biscuits on a low heat usually 3. For around 30-40 mins or until slightly golden.  I find they taste a lot better when cooked on a low heat.

Screen Shot 2013-09-05 at 10.22.28         Sprinkle with a little sugar while they cool.

Screen Shot 2013-09-05 at 10.22.28       You could always add something to the batter. I love to add chocolate chips and nuts. But you can add anything you like. A little cinnamon is great for a little seasonal touch.

Hugs, Charly beebee

(You can read more about Charly here)

