Kate Travels: Loy Krathong

So we celebrated Loy Krathong in my town last weekend. I wasn’t expecting much because it’s a small town and the festival was on Sunday, so I figured everyone would want a quiet night. But actually it was amazing. So beautiful and lovely and everyone in town was out for the party.

Loy Krathong is this amazing festival where Thai people build Krathongs and then float them in the river or in ponds and lakes. You’re meant to offer the Krathongs to the river and make wishes and things like that. It’s really lovely.

I made one!!! Mine is on the left below… it’s not great but I was quite proud of it! It took me like an hour and a half to make and it kind of resembled the Sydney Opera House. It was very traditional but that’s ok… I think.

Also you can float lanterns into the sky. This was amazing because for the whole night, the sky was just full of lanterns and the whole next day I kept seeing the remnants of paper lanterns in the streets.

It was so much fun to celebrate a festival that’s as big as Loy Krathong is, in such a small and un-touristy area. All my kids from school were there and it was so personal. Like that was how festivals are meant to be celebrated. I know that a lot of people head to the bigger cities for Loy Krathong and Songkran and New Year etc, but I liked it here because I saw people I knew wandering around and it was so sweet.

k1 k2 k3

At the moment, I’m sat in an internet café. I feel like I’m becoming more and more Thai by the day. My internet at my house is well and truly broken so I’ve resorted to the most Thai thing imaginable. It’s full of people playing world of war craft and other strange games. Sitting by the window was probably a bad idea as well because the kids I teach keep walking past and laughing at me.

I’m going to go now. I keep getting bitten and it’s getting late here in Thailand.

Love, Kate

(You can read more about Kate here)

